top of page

Week 2: Easing Into It

PROMPT: What is the general employee attitude at your internship? Are the people driven by their work? Do they seem more interested in socializing/gossiping? Is there an air of respect for the job and the people who do it? Do people see this as “just a job,” and if so, how does this attitude influence their daily tasks within the job? Is this a job whose employees make you want to be a part of it? Reflect!

The general employee attitude at my internship is positive. You know that voice when you talk to your own pet? That is basically how everyone talks to the pet patients at the internship. It’s a judgement-free zone because everyone is in the same boat. Everyone takes good care of each other; everyday there will be communal snacks. I did not know going into this internship that not only will I be gaining knowledge and experience, but I am going to gain weight as well. This week, one of our technician wasn't feeling well, but he still showed up to work anyway. I witnessed at least two people asking our clinic director to see if he can go home early. Of course our director was concerned, so he was able to leave work early. People who works at the clinic are definitely driven by their passion, but I am not going to deny that are no gossips. I have certainly seen some people with a negative attitude, but they act professionally. They do what they are suppose to do, and they do it throughly. The employees at the clinic certainly has a large variety of different types of people. Some I shy away from, some I embrace. Overall, this is a job whose employees make you want to be a part of it.

WEEKLY REFLECTION:

The majority of my second week consists of sitting down with patients after surgery to help them recover and doing blood work. The blood work consists of me using a unique machinery to separate the blood cells shown in the picture below. I have become more familiar with where things are placed, so I was more helpful this week than last week. I have learned that you need to keep your ears open at all times, because communication is key. If you need to go use the restroom, you need to announce it. If you are going to see a patient in room four, you need to announce it. Receptionists come to the back of the clinic all the time, requesting certain employees to answer questions clients have. Things can get complicated if you are nowhere to be found. I was also able to help draw fluids into needles for our patients while being supervised by a certified doctor/technician. I enjoyed doing that because I felt very professional doing so.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page