top of page

Week 5: Counting Raisins

PROMPT: Answer the following question in relation to your industry: Is there an endpoint to learning at your job? Do you want there to be?

In the medical field, there is no endpoint to learning your job, and veterinary medicine is not an exception. New vaccines are made constantly, new medicine are created everyday, and medical procedures always strive to be more effective. All of these things means change, which as doctors it is their duty to be constantly be up to date. They need to learn how to apply them correctly, because nothing is more important than to save a life, right? Maybe one day in the future humankind will reach a point in the medical field where everything is at its maximum efficiency. But I do not see this happening in the near future, therefore there is no endpoint to learning at my job as far as I can tell.

WEEKLY REFLECTION:

This week, as I was playing with our other clinic cat, Abby, I noticed that her ear had a lot of brown discharge. I brought this issue to one of our technician's attention. We cleaned Abby's ears, but we did not figure out what that brown stuff was. So this week I kept a close eye on Abby's ears. They seem to be fine now, but I will definitely be constantly checking up on it in the future. Another eventful thing that happened this week was a golden retriever came into our clinic sick because he ate a lot of raisins. Dogs cannot have grapes because they are poisonous, so raisins are not good for dogs. What the technicians did was they gave a pill to the patient that makes canine nauseous, so the patient can regurgitate what is inside his stomach. The pill worked pretty fast; the patient started to regurgitate five minutes after the pill was given. What made this eventful was the technician had to count how many raisins our patient regurgitated, so we can report this to the owner. I don't remember if we had to inform poison control or not, but counting raisins from a puddle of bile was unavoidable. What was interesting to see was how people working at the clinic reacted to it. They were unaffected by it, which shows how professional they are at their job. Since everyone was very professional about it, there was definitely a pressure on me on the way I react to it. I think I handled the situation well and was calm about it, but on the inside I was cringing.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page