top of page

Week 6: Realization

PROMPT: Interview at least three different people at your industry. Get them to narrate the industry for you. These will be some of the most revealing, and genuine, responses to your project, so prepare your interviews and listen well.

<Check out the interviews posted under the tab that is labelled "Interviews">

During the week of April 4th to April 8th, I was able to interview four technicians that was on site that week. One of them answered some questions that are different from the other three because he has had previous experience with animal rescuing. Todd answered questions I had for him when he was on the rescuing team for the New England Aquarium. Through this interview, I learned that a lot of rescue organizations are nonprofit, which can limit this industry to release their full potential to help animals. Todd told me his team always drive up to Cape Cod to rescue dolphins because dolphins always get stranded in the hook of Cape Cod when the tide goes down. I asked him why don’t they build a station near the danger area for the dolphins. He told me they did have a station there, but due to money shortage, they had to close it down. Dan, Katie, and Jen answered questions I had about the veterinary medicine industry. When I asked them what is the ultimate advice they have for me if I want to go into this industry, all of them had different answers, yet they are all relevant with each other. Katie told me to “try to figure out early of what to do in life.” Jen said “make sure you don’t loose your passion for what you work for.” And Dan said something very surprising; he told me to “take care of yourself physically and emotionally, because people in this industry tend to have a high instance of drug abuse and depression.” During these interviews, I can tell that they are speaking from their own experience, because they are honesty with their answers.

WEEKLY REFLECTION:

That week I learned the proper way to hold down a cat when drawing blood. It was very intense because that cat was fairly young, therefore the poor kitty was very nervous and uncooperative. Sometime during that week, there was also a dental procedure that was the most gruesome dental procedure I have seen yet. The dog that was under the procedure had an infected gum, therefore there were a lot of blood and yellow fluids. The surgery table looked like a hot mess because blood was all over the towels that were placed on the table. Adding on top of that, the horrific screeching sound of mental against teeth went on for a solid half an hour. When the screeching stopped, I would take the opportunity and observe the technicians working on the dental. The poor dog had to get stitches on his inflamed gum. The patient was such a trooper when he woke up from surgery; he didn’t cry too much during the recovery session. That week was when I realize that I do not wish to become a veterinarian. All the medical procedures like dental and neutering appointments made me realize that it is a medical job after all. I’m not interested in being a doctor for animals; I am gravitating more towards behavioral issues with animals instead of the medical aspect. This week was a turn pointing for me.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page